Home Page


Early Years Foundation Stage

The early years foundation stage (EYFS) sets the standards for leaning, development and care of your child from birth to five years old. All schools and Ofsted registered early years providers must follow the EYFS, including nurseries, pre-schools and reception classes. EYFS is a unique and exciting time in your child's school career, where learning is rooted in carefully planned play based learning. Many learning opportunities are child led and follow our learners interests. 


Below are a number of documents that give a more in depth overview of the early years foundation stage, and the objectives that your child will be working towards throughout the school year. 

Early Learning Goals - these are the objectives that the children are expected to meet by the end of the academic year.

A more detailed look at the EYFS curriculum.

Characteristics of Effective Learning (CoEL) are a revived element in the early years foundation stage curriculum. In essence, Characteristics of Effective Learning is a list of qualities that teachers can observe through watching children play. This includes things like 'being willing to have a go', 'developing their own ideas' and 'looking for ways to overcome problems'. By observing our children and understanding how they learn and where they are in their individual learning journeys, we can tailor our planning and teaching to suit children's individual needs.


For further information please follow the link below

SMSC (spiritual, moral, social, cultural) in Reception